Friday, November 6, 2015

Webmaster Notes for Annual Meeting

Attached is the annual report from the UPRRC Webmaster for the previous 12 months, to be presented by proxy at the Annual Meeting on November 7, 2015.

  • In the last 12 months, we had 18,699 page views (1558 a month or 51 a day) by 7470 unique visitors.
    • This is lower than the 2500 page views per month we had in the first 9 months that the new site went live (February 2014 to the annual meeting last year)
  • Users spend about two minutes on our website per session and visit an average of 2.4 pages
    • Unfortunately, 40% of the sessions last less than 10 seconds, indicating that users may be redirected on accident or they can not quickly find what they are looking for and end the session
  • The page with the highest percentage of views (after the home page) is the Calendar (of race events)
  • 72% of hits are from new users, compared to 28% coming from returning users
  • The geography of users with the highest sessions were:
    • 8.6% from Escanaba
    • 7.2% from Marquette
    • 3% from each of these (Ironwood, Iron Mountain, Houghton, Chicago)
  • Google Chrome was the most popular web browser to view our website used 54% of the time.  Internet Explorer (Windows) was used 20% of the time with Safari and Firefox each used 11% of the time
  • The website was almost equally accessed from Windows computers (48%) vs. Apple computers (38%)
  • Apple iOS was the overwhelmingly most popular mobile browser used to access the site at 79% of the time, with Windows Mobile at 13% and Android at 6%
Things that are working well:
  • Race Directors are completing the online request to have races listed on our calendar
Things that could improve:
  • Submission of race results have been very low this year compared to other years.  We continue to receive an extremely low number of race results emailed to us for inclusion on the website.  It is suspected that this is due in part to the high number of UP races timed by Superior Timing, who hosts all results on their website.
Things that may be considered for 2016
  • Using online registration through the website for membership applications
We are always taking suggestions on improving the website.  Please submit those to


Eric Charette
UPRRC Webmaster

Saturday, October 10, 2015

2015 UPRRC Annual Meeting

Saturday, November 7, 2015

Jasper Ridge Restaurant

1075 Country Lane, Ishpeming, MI

Fun Run to start at 11:00am Eastern Time
Meeting to start at 12:00pm noon Eastern Time

Agenda items will include reports by the officers, newsletter editor, webmaster, treasurer report, membership dues, equipment and rental fees, appointments for 2016 and review of the 2015 activities.  Additional items  may be added to the agenda at the meeting,.

All members are invited and encouraged to attend!

Thursday, July 16, 2015

Newest UPRRC Members

Welcome to the newest members of the Upper Peninsula Road Runners Club!
  • Kory McCarthy - Iron Mountain, MI
  • Brad Slagle & Lynne Fleury - Marquette, MI
  • Lee Iverson - Kingsford, MI
  • Marcie Blickliam - Wilson, MI
  • Greg & Ellen Metko - Ironwood, MI
  • Robert French - Lanse, MI

Sunday, May 10, 2015

Newest UPRRC Members

Welcome to the newest members of the Upper Peninsula Road Runners Club!
  • Cathlene Lett, Chicago, IL
  • Randy Kerr, Newberry, MI
  • Clay & Lindsey Sterns, Escanaba, MI
  • April & Jacob Winkler, Munising, MI

Sunday, March 29, 2015

Letter from Al Salmi

Dear UPRRC Members:

In the last issue of Running Amuck, which I hope you have read by now, there appeared a list of ALL members who have been inducted into the UPRRC Hall of Fame. I neglected to add that the 3 new members inducted in 2014, were part of the 15th "class" of inductees. I also meant to add that next year our club will be celebrating 40 years since we organized with 14 charter members, all who were named to the Hall of Fame. Hopefully there should/will be a committee formed to plan and organize an appropriate celebration for that milestone year.

I have served on the Hall of Fame committee with Bill Sved, Bill Hager and Jesse Haavisto since 2000. But now it is time for "New Blood" to take over so I am resigning from the committee effective immediately. Our Constitution calls for a three member committee so that means there is at least one opening. If YOU are interested in serving on this committee please contact President Haavisto as soon as possible. I do feel it is very worthwhile to continue recognizing members who contribute time and talent to the operations of our club while also maintaining their running/fitness lifestyle.


Sunday, January 4, 2015

2014 UPPRC Annual Awards and Election Results

Here are the election results from the recent UPPRC Annual Meeting
  • President
    • Jesse Haavisto
  • Vice President
    • Andrew Grosvenor
  • Secretary
    • Liz Sprehe
  • Treasurer
    • Sandra Haavisto
  • Trustee-East
    • Alan Jarvie
  • Trustee-Central
    • Lori Criger 
  • Trustee-West
    • Dean Juntunen 
  • Trustee-North
    • Cindy Harwood 
  • Trustee-At Large
    • George Orchard 
  • Male Runner of the Year
    • Andrew Grosvenor
  • Female Runner of the Year
    • Liz Sprehe
  • Male Youth Runner of the Year
    • John Henry Kibit
  • Female Youth Runner of the Year
    • Amber Heubner
  • Volunteer of the Year
    • Robert Yelland
  • Event of the Year
    • Whitefish Pt. Run for the Light Members 
Also receiving nominations were Bill Sved and Bruce Collins for Male Runner of the Year, Kelly Trasti and Stephanie Grosvenor for Female Runner of the Year, KJ Pruett for Male Youth Runner of the Year, Ella Grosvenor for Female Youth Runner of the Year, Gina Zanon and Tim Tervo for  Volunteer of the Year and Off the Vine, Grand Slam Fall Classic, Lake Antoine, Marquette Marathon, and the Black Bear Run for Event of the Year.